Topic: H.O.R.O. Newsletters

In 1982 I was in my own little world collecting slot cars as I had since I was a kid. I started playing with (yes I said it), and collecting slot cars in or around 1962. In 1983 in an effort to build my collection, I took out an ad in the Oregonian, a local newspaper. In the ad I stated I wanted to buy toy slot cars. I was almost immediately awakened to the fact that I was NOT the only collector of slot cars on the planet. The Friday the ad came out I was contacted by Bart Currie and Mike Bell, both local slot car collectors. Shocked and amazed we set up our first meeting. Bart and Mike were friends already, and both wondered who I was and where I had come from! In those years there were few collectors around, and finding old slot car stuff was difficult. I'll save the collecting stories for another time, but Bart, Mike and I are still friends to this day.